I Believe in God, but I’m Not Christian

I’m not conventionally religious. I am ” spiritually independent ” or whatever nebulous term they’re using this week / month / season. I think of myself as a Deist in the tradition of our Founding Fathers in the U.S.
I live in the Bible Belt where independent thought not linked to the Good Book or Christian theologians is disparaged or dissed, but I haven’t been really been given a lot of static for my rebellious ( ? ) ways. I believe that concepts like ” The Kingdom of God ” & ” Second Coming ” could be figurative / metaphorical rather than literal & I have no problem with secular humanism, the practitioners of the GLBTQ lifestyle, unlike, say, my relatives. Freedom from from religion is healthier than addiction to doctrine & dogma, just IMHO.

Reaching for The Sky

churchToday is Thursday, July 25, 2013.

This quote is going around Facebook:

If one person were to say to another, “I love you.  You will love me, too, and do what I say, without ever questioning me, or I will punish you with the worst torture you can imagine for the rest of your existence,” we would, as a society, cry out loudly, “That’s not love, that’s abuse!”   But apparently, it’s okay if it’s coming from a Deity.  – Unknown

I am not an atheist.  I do believe in God.  I’m just not Christian, and this is one of the reasons why.  I don’t really think God says this.  I think the Christian church says this – Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodox, and Protestant denominations.  Some Protestant churches seem to allow a bit more questioning, but basically, there is a belief in heaven and hell, and if you don’t “believe…

View original post 1,866 more words

Author: danielrappletonyahoocom

Science - fiction, fantasy, horror & suspense ( But not really " nerd / geek " material ), armchair cultural anthropologist, interested in archaeology ( Although the closest I've been to an actual dig - site was Pinson Mounds outside Memphis ), & interested in the obscure, strange or sometimes things that would bore or put off other people.

Leave a Reply

