Christianity Can Dish It Out, But Can’t Take It

As a resident of the Bible Belt, I have had to put up with a fair amount of intolerançe, closed – mindedness, paranoia, distrust ( directed towards other groups ), casual bigotry, misuse / abuse of Biblical passages, & having my POV minimized. Strict adherence to religion kills grey cells :), & smothers the human spirit.

Lucien Maverick's Blog

It never ceases really to amaze me how the Christian community, along with many religious communities really, can attack mercilessly, but cannot take a taste of their own medicine.  Does anybody remember that billboard that was up around Christmas last year?  I have a picture of it that I will show, which will illustrate for you what I am trying to say.  What I am trying to say is this – Christian American can dish out endless series of punishment, retribution, scathing, hatred, and venom, but cannot take even the slightest bit of criticism.  Here is the billboard –

Take a nice long look at that billboard.  Take a long look.  Let me ask you something – does that sound even the slightest bit confrontational to you?  Do you feel like you are somehow being attacked by that billboard?  I am, of course, asking any Christians who read my blog. …

View original post 963 more words

Author: danielrappletonyahoocom

Science - fiction, fantasy, horror & suspense ( But not really " nerd / geek " material ), armchair cultural anthropologist, interested in archaeology ( Although the closest I've been to an actual dig - site was Pinson Mounds outside Memphis ), & interested in the obscure, strange or sometimes things that would bore or put off other people.

Leave a Reply

