Graphic Mythology: Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman / Princess Diana might be considered a sort of. ” artificial being “, then, almost ” immaculately conceived ” ?

PNEUMYTHOLOGY

wonderwomanmad

It’s time to come full-circle.  Since I started this series, enough time has elapsed for me to do some background research on Wonder Woman, a character that I read about only a little when I was a boy. I will date myself by mentioning that I remember the Silver Age of comics when each issue cost only ten cents. That was also my weekly allowance, and I would walk two blocks to Sullivan’s drugstore on the north side of Indianapolis to purchase the latest issue of Superman. Not much of a surprise there, but Wonder Woman was neglected.

There is more material about her than I originally thought. I mentioned in the first post of this series the original date of her release, and I honestly didn’t realize how long she had been around (since 1941). So let’s do the obvious first by going over her backstory. It is based in…

View original post 190 more words

Author: danielrappletonyahoocom

Science - fiction, fantasy, horror & suspense ( But not really " nerd / geek " material ), armchair cultural anthropologist, interested in archaeology ( Although the closest I've been to an actual dig - site was Pinson Mounds outside Memphis ), & interested in the obscure, strange or sometimes things that would bore or put off other people.

8 thoughts on “Graphic Mythology: Wonder Woman”

  1. I was thinking about your lead comment about Immaculate Conception. I think that was used to explain how Mary came into being, but perhaps someone more familiar with Catholicism might want to correct me. The virgin birth, of course, refers to the arrival of Jesus Christ on planet earth. What the creation of Wonder Woman reminds me more of, however, is the Genesis account of God breathing life into the dust of the earth to create Adam.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

