Room 217, Hedge Mazes, Room 217 & —– Ta Da ! Redrum.

I’m watching ” The Shining ” courtesy of AMC’s Fear – Fest. I also have the original novel by Stephen King. Kubrick’s lighting is the cherry in the chocolate for this masterpiece of psychological horror.

I remember watching it in my early teen years…… I couldn’t close my eyes for a week. Perhaps I exaggerate, perhaps I don’t.

Rumor has it that King wrote it after staying in Room 418 of a similar hotel, whose name escapes me at the moment. If anyone would enlighten me, I would live a life fulfilled. Or at least fulfilled for perhaps 30 minutes.

My understanding is that people still tour The Overlook,  & its sister ( ? ) hotel to this day, in search of….. A portal to a spiritual realm ? A visitation by revenants ? Maybe just a good old – fashioned scare, & the gutsy adrenaline rush thereof ?

In Stephen King’s novelization & in the movie itself, apart from the spooky twins that little Danny Torrance encounters, the tide of blood, a withered former guest climbing out of the bathtub in Room 217 ( & let’s not forget Delbert Grady, bartender / former caretaker OR Danny’s little friend Tony & the recurring theme ” Redrum – Murder “. ), the only otherworldly visitations in the book and the movie appear to be the demons of Jack’s recurring alcoholism & HIS implied early history as an abused child, as well as his lingering, under – the – surface guilt over breaking younger Danny’s arm in a fit of ( presumably ) drunken anger & adrenaline.

Perhaps the worst demons & ” phantoms ” are those we visit upon ourselves. Jack didn’t manage his very well.

Author: danielrappletonyahoocom

Science - fiction, fantasy, horror & suspense ( But not really " nerd / geek " material ), armchair cultural anthropologist, interested in archaeology ( Although the closest I've been to an actual dig - site was Pinson Mounds outside Memphis ), & interested in the obscure, strange or sometimes things that would bore or put off other people.

3 thoughts on “Room 217, Hedge Mazes, Room 217 & —– Ta Da ! Redrum.”

Leave a Reply

